Wearing hijab is my most beautiful gift from Allah

Published March 23, 2012 by arabian roses

Hijab  is  muslimah’s crown. But for decades woman in Tunisia has been discrowned. ”The jewel of the sea, the pearl, has been given a very tough and rugged Hijab – oyster shell. It protects it from sea animals and keeps it sparkling and shining inside. Our body is sacred. You’re far more precious than diamonds and pearls, and you should be covered too.”  But to not be denied   her right to education , work ,and freedom ,Tunisian woman was forced  to give in her crown, her hijab.  Some women were even arrested and  forced to sign a commitment to not wear hijab.

I still remember when at university , that man with ashen face standing at the gate of university ,a cardboard  box in his hand ,urging every girl wearing hijab to remove it and put it  there.
Wearing hijab  was a dream that  Tunisian woman was yearning to be a truth. She proved to be a person full of potentials.She handled many responsibilities as a doctor,teacher,pilot, and journalist .She is a devoting mother, loving wife and inspiring woman, and she wanted to be Allah ‘s loyal servant too.She did everything in her way to gain back her crown  ,the crown that Allah entrusted her with, in the hope that one day she can be that queen she is born to be .Some wore wigs .Others pretend to have flu but the weather-beaten cardboard box was always  there.
 
I was a coward , I didn’t dare to wear Hijab,because some humiliations were  beyond endurence for a woman.The only time I wear hijab was when praying.Actually it was the case of most Tunisian women.I used to take my mother’s head scarves,  stand  in front of my mirror and try them.I was dying to wear it.Muslimah is incomplete without her crown.
 
Now after  the 17 th December  revolution , Tunisian woman restored her religious freedom.Wearing Hijab is not a far-fetched  reality anymore .Set free by the wind of revolution ,I started wearing hijab.   I remember that day as if  it was yesterday.I was in my room reciting Quoran .I stopped for a moment wondering; what’s the point of reciting Quran if I’m still uncovering my hair. I kissed the book  then put it  aside gently .I went to talk to my mother who was in the dinning room knitting .I told her that I took my decision to wear hijab.She was so happy to hear that .She reminded me that I should never take it off  once I wore it.It’s sacred.
The next day I went shopping .I bought  new wonderful head scarves .I was happy when I went to work wearing my hijab.I was on the nine cloud .I still need to work on myself to be a good muslimah  .I have many flaws ;stupid ones, and wearing hijab was a good start
 .
 
Thanks for those brave men and courageous women who made my dream and the dream of many Tunisian women to wear hijab become a sweet reality.
 
 
5 comments on “Wearing hijab is my most beautiful gift from Allah

  • Your comment is a treasured gift

        House Of Fiction

    ”،إننا بحاجة للقصص بقدر حاجتنا للطعام و الهواء والماء و النوم، القصص هي الطريقة التي من خلالها ننظم و نرتب الواقع.” بول أستر

    arabian roses'whispers

    - To overcome evil with good is good, to resist evil by evil is evil. Prophet Muhammed صلى الله عليه وسلم

    . نقطة

    نقطة ونبدأ من أول السطر.. حكاية جديدة... هكذا هي الحياة

    Lost in Translation

    Looking for meanings in words, images and sounds

    Il mio giornale di bordo

    Il Vincitore è l'uomo che non ha rinunciato ai propri sogni.

    Faithrises

    "Discussions on faith and perseverance"

    Wind Against Current

    Thoughts on kayaking, science, and life

    Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

    BOOK PRICES! most at $9.99, up to $13.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

    Pete Armetta

    Flash Fiction, Poetry, Short Stories and Essays

    DEAR HUMAN

    These letters are written to remind you just how much you matter, just how important you are, and just how beautiful the gift of life as a human is.

    Laurie Works

    Intuitive Tarot Guidance

    HA's Place

    musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

    Words4jp's Blog

    A Mind Ready to Explode!

    muags

    Just words

    velvetmedia

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Matt on Not-WordPress

    Stuff and things.

    1 One Poet 4 Man

    Who will write the Poetry that saves the world? Where Are The Poets For Man?

    NerdspireArts-by Sarah Hicker

    Inspire through passion and creativity

